Chambers Award


Chambers Award Recipients

The John T. Chambers Award was instituted in 1970 on the suggestion of Bill Smith, K0CER. The Award honors John Chambers, W6NLZ, for his many contributions to VHF, most notably his work with KH6UK proving the existence of the West Coast to Hawaii duct. Nominations may be sent to Kent Britain, WA5VJB.


1971 Mel Wilson, W2BOC, for his dedicated observation and brilliant reporting of VHF propagation phenomena.

1972 Ed Tilton, W1HDQ, for his many years of research and reporting as Editor of QST's "The World Above 50 Mc."

1973 Tommy Thomas, W2UK/KH6UK, for his numerous VHF exploits, particularly on the Hawaii to West Coast duct with W6NLZ. In addition, he, in company with W4HHK, showed the value of meteor scatter for working long distances on 2 meters.

1974 Dick Knadle, K2RIW, for his design of amplifiers and parabolic dishes.

1975 John Fox, W0LER, for his studies of OSCAR telemetry.

1976 Joe Reisert, W1JR, for his many technical contributions to VHF and UHF and his oft demonstrated helpfulness to his fellow amateurs.

1977 Bob Sutherland, W6PO, for his dedicated efforts in bringing EME technical information to amateurs worldwide through distribution of the famous Eimac EME Notes.

1978 Wayne Overbeck, N6NB, for his technical accomplishments and contest activities.

1979 No award presented.

1980 Jan King, W3GEY, for his work in amateur satellites.

1981 Louis Ancioux, WB6NMT, for his promotion and technical contributions to 220 MHz in our continuing efforts to retain this valuable allocation.

1982 Al Katz, K2UYH, for his many technical accomplishments.

1983 No award presented.

1984 Ron Dunbar, W0PN, for his technical contributions to the Amateur Satellite program in writing software and serving as a command station.

1985 Don Hilliard, W0PW (ex W0EYE), for his technical contribution to VHF/UHF including the W0EYE Yagi.

1986 Paul Wilson, W4HHK, for his continuing technical contributions to UHF, especially in EME on 13 cm.

1987 Leroy May, W5HN (ex W5AJG), for his over 50 years of contributions to VHF and UHF including many articles in amateur magazines beginning the 1930s.

1988 Al Ward, WB5LUA, for his many outstanding technical contributions in the field of VHF, UHF and microwave equipment.

1989 Kent Britain, WA5VJB, for his promotion of the microwave bands, including his numerous articles on simple, easy-to-build equipment.

1990 No award presented.

1991 Jim Vogler, WA7CJO, for his many outstanding technical contributions, including participation in the first 10-GHz EME contact.

1992 Chip Angle, N6CA, for his many VHF-UHF accomplishments in advancing the state-of-the-art in practical amplifier and apparatus designs and his contributions to transpacific microwave communications on 3, 5 and 10 GHz.

1993 Dr. Paul Shuch, N6TX, for his many years of outstanding technical contributions to the Society and radio amateur interests in VHF and above.

1994 Jim Davey, WA8NLC, and Rick Campbell, KK7B, for their development of "no-tune" transverters for the microwave bands.

1995 Zack Lau, KH6CP, for his many contributions of technical designs from DC to microwave, and his generous assistance to all seeking technical advice.

1996 Tom Clark, W3IWI, for his many contributions to the amateur satellite program.

1997 Paul Wade, N1BWT, for his numerous microwave construction articles.

1998 Greg McIntire, AA5C, for his outstanding technical articles in QST and the CSVHFS Proceedings and his helping others achive 10 GHz EME capability.

1999 Les "Lucky" Whitaker, W7CNK For his many firsts. In 1970 he worked WB6NMT to become one end of the first 220 MHz EME QSO. In 1987 he worked KD5RO to become one end of the first 3.4 GHz EME QSO. A few weeks later he worked WA5TNY to become on end of the first 5.7 GHz EME QSO. And in 1988 he was one end of the second 10 GHz EME QSO.

2000 Picture Barry Malowanchuk, VE4MA, For his work on dish feed design, low noise amps, and EME activty.

2001 Wil Jensby, W6EOM, for his record breaking millimeter work and helping hundreds more get on the microwave bands.

2002 Picture Mike Staal, K6MYC, for his many years of superior antenna design, development, and production benefitting VHF'ers and above.

2003 Picture David Robinson, WW2R, for hundreds of articles published about VHF/UHF/SHF technology and active operation on the bands. Dave holds one end of the World 24 GHz distance record.

2004 Picture Gerald Youngblood AC5OG for his ground-breaking work with Software Defined Radios which is advancing the art of VHF and above.

2005 Picture Gary R Lauterbach AD6FP for his pioneering 47 GHz EME work. Gary was registered for Colorado Springs but had to cancel at the very last minute. A surprise presentation was made at 2005 MicrowaveUpdate.

2006 Jeffrey Leer, KG0VL, for his Auroral research and operations. Through his studies, expeditions, and presentations many operators have increased knowledge and enjoyment during Auroral openings.

2007 Bob McGwier, N4HY, for his work with AMSAT flight hardware and Development work with Software Defined Radios.

2008 Barry Malowanchuk, VE4MA and Al Ward, W5LUA for their work in the first 24 GHz and 47 GHz EME QSO's. This year's award departs a bit from the tradition of the Chambers Award; in fact, John Fox, the original custodian of these awards, was consulted to make sure we were still within the original charter. John felt that this was an excellent idea. Often there are teams who's work are difficult to separate, the Wright Brothers, Mutt and Jeff, Laurel and Hardy, Abbot and Costello, along with so many others. In like manner, we add Barry and Al to the list of notable duos!

2009 Presented to Ronald J Stefanskie, W9ZIH. The Chambers Award to W9ZIH recognizes and honors his lifetime of achievement on the bands above 50 Mhz. Ron has consistently been a trailblazer on the higher bands; a list of record-distance contacts on the amateur microwave bands shows that he anchored one end of many record contacts. His dedication to amateur radio microwave operation has resulted in a greater understanding of microwave propagation.

2010 No award presented.

2011 Presented to Joe Taylor, K1JT, for his development of the WSJT suite of software programs which have been benefitial in completing contacts via meteor scatter and moonbounce on 50 MHz and above.

2012 To Jim Kennedy, KH6/K6MIO for his notable contributions to the science of VHF propagation through his studies and analysis of hither-to unexplained very long distance Six Meter propagation of both the  Sporadic E and F2 varieties.

2013 Presented to Zack Lau, W1VT, for his continuing VHF+ work.

2014 Jim Klitzing, W6PQL, for his numerous solid state amplifier designs.

2015 Wayne Overbeck, N6NB, for his recent work over the California/Hawaii ducts.

2016 No award presented